Making a Statement


The image shown here falls into what I consider to be the school of traditional landscape photography. Not sure what this says about me or landscape photography for that matter, if anything. I can’t say that I had a purpose in taking this image, the intention wasn’t just to take a pretty chocolate box picture because clearly it isn’t. It just appealed to me at the time and as such is a legitimate statement on landscape. It says ‘I was here and this scene touched me, it appealed to me as something that gave me pleasure at the time’. To be honest my eye was drawn to the dead tree.

Having researched the work of lots of distinguished and not so distinguished photographers it seems to me that most strive to make a ‘statement’ large or small in their photography no matter what the subject matter.

The statement they strive to make being different for each photographer depending on what and how they feel about their chosen subject, whatever that subject may be; street photography, portraiture, social documentary and even landscape photography etc. etc. Some manage to make significant statements that change the way we think about the world.

Is the purpose of your photography to make a statement, do you work in a specific area of photography and if so what is it you are trying to say in your work?

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

close-alt close collapse comment ellipsis expand gallery heart lock menu next pinned previous reply search share star